Board of Directors

James H. Keyes
James H. Keyes

Non-Executive Chairman

James Keyes was appointed non-executive Chairman of Navistar International Corporation on April 15, 2013. Mr. Keyes retired as chairman of the board of Johnson Controls, Inc., an automotive system and facility management and control company, in 2003, a position he had held since 1993. He served as chief executive officer of Johnson Controls, Inc. from 1988 until 2002. He is a director of Pitney Bowes, Inc. and is a member of the board of trustees of Fidelity Mutual Funds. He was also a director of LSI Logic Corporation, an electronics company that designs semiconductors and software that accelerate storage and networking in datacenters and mobile networks, from 1983 until 2008. Keyes earned a B.S. degree in business administration from Marquette University.

Troy Clarke
Troy Clarke

President and Chief Executive Officer

Troy A. Clarke assumed the role of president and chief executive officer of Navistar International Corporation on April 15, 2013, after serving as chief operating officer since August 2012. 

As COO, Clarke was accountable for all Navistar operations in North America and globally.  He assumed this role shortly after being named president, Truck and Engine, in July 2012.  Clarke joined Navistar, Inc. in  2010 as president of Navistar Asia Pacific, where he was responsible for leading the company’s growth initiatives in the region. He came to Navistar after a distinguished 35-year career at General Motors. 

At General Motors, Clarke most recently served as president of GM North America and GM group vice president.  Preceding that role, he spent two years as the president of GM Asia Pacific and GM group vice president. Clarke also held the role of GM group vice president of Manufacturing and Labor Relations, where he was responsible for North America vehicle manufacturing, vehicle operations, the metal fabricating division and labor relations.  Over the course of his career with GM, he held several additional leadership roles, including president and managing director of GM de Mexico and director of Manufacturing for GM de Mexico.

Clarke is a member of the board of directors of Fuel Systems Solutions.

José Alapont,
José Maria Alapont,

Retired in 2012 as President and Chief Executive Officer of Federal-Mogul Corporation, including serving as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the company from 2005 to 2007, plus continued to serve as a Director on the Board until 2013

Stephen D'Arcy
Stephen R. D'Arcy

Served as a Partner of Quantum Group LLC since 2010, and previously worked for PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP for 34 years  


Michael N. Hammes
Michael N. Hammes

Served as Chairman and Chief Executive Office of Sunrise Medical, Inc. until his retirement as CEO in 2007 and as Chairman in 2008


Vincent Intrieri
Vincent J. Intrieri

Senior Managing Director of Icahn Capital LP


Stanley McChrystal
Gen. Stanley A. McChrystal

Retired 34-year U.S. Army veteran of multiple wars. He commanded the U.S. and NATO's security mission in Afghanistan, served as the director of the Joint Staff and was the Commander of Joint Special Operations Command.

Samuel Merksamer
Samuel Merksamer

Managing Director at Icahn Capital, LP


Mark Rachesky
Dr. Mark H. Rachesky

Co-founder and President of MHR Fund Mangement LLC


Michael Sirignano
Michael Sirignano

Principal at MHR Fund Management LLC


Dennis Suskind
Dennis A. Suskind

Served as Executive Vice President of Aron & Company until his retirement in 1991

Dennis D. Williams
Dennis D. Williams

President of the UAW